#TwentySomething

Let’s talk about what it means to be a #twentysomething in today’s society; it’s not always rainbows and butterflies. My fellow Millennials, #amIright!? I mean, we are looked at by most generations (sometimes even our own) like we need to have our lives together, goals to work toward (both personal and professional), an IG-worthy bod and cool stuff going on behind the scenes that (naturally) we need to share on social media with our followers, who in turn probably believe we actually have perfect lives by the pictures we paint for them. Here’s the deal: We do not – I repeat, DO NOT – have it all together. Disclaimer! Please know that if you do in fact have your life together at this ripe stage, I commend you and do not claim to speak on your behalf (but please, drop me a line and share your secrets if that’s the case!).

As for the rest of us, we are proudly repping the #comeup IMG_6657and just trying to figure it all out as we go. When we were teens, my friends and I used to talk about how, “we can’t wait to grow up and show everyone exactly who we are.” All. The. Time. Then we turned 20, allowances got cut, college got real and we quickly realized that we were in for one heck of a ride. I really couldn’t emphasize this point any better than @EliteDaily did on my Instagram feed today. Being a #twentysomething is a complicated time in a young person’s life. I don’t know about you, but I am over here having so many conversations with my friends about how we are trying to make sure the path we have chosen in life is the right one, hoping that we can pay the bills, keep a roof over our heads and be sure that those same heads are still above water in the next five minutes with all this chaos that we call #life.

I’m a 90’s baby. I lived in a time before the Internet, I had a childhood which occurred prior to this social media prevalence we now know so well, and I went to college during the phase when you were basically an un-informed individual if you didn’t have some kind of online presence to get updates from. Social media has definitely changed the world and let’s just say it made my college years a little more #complicated, but that is the beauty of growing up in a time of such drastic social change; you learn to adapt! That is precisely what we Millennials have gotten very good at, as evidenced by the coming stories of my life experiences as a #twentysomething.

#TWENTY.pngIf you’re here, you’re in for a treat. In my future posts, I will be taking down the walls surrounding the very guarded and perfectly painted picture that my social media accounts have so delicately come to portray. (Talk about vulnerability!) However, I think this is an important step to take as a #twentysomething who is simply trying to figure out the meaning of this life-journey and I am very happy to have you on it with me. Make sure to follow along because what comes next includes many lessons you won’t want to miss (or repeat for yourself – trust me)! Here goes nothin’…

2 thoughts on “#TwentySomething

  1. I am a 90s baby too. To see the transition from minimal technology, to everything now being operated and ran by technology is crazy to me. As far as social media I think we have all become too used to trying to hold ourselves to the standard of this perfect life and that everything is always peaches and cream. We don’t know how to be vulnerable. I am excited to see your future posts and how this blog will inspire others to also understand that not knowing it all and having everything together is OK. It’s OK to fail, it’s OK to fall, it’s OK to learn through experience. It’s OK to be unapologetically US. Ultimately, those times when we don’t have it all together, those times when we don’t know it all, those times when we fail and fall, are going to be the ones that truly help us succeed and reach our goals.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Couldn’t agree with you more, Kayla! So sorry it took me eternity to respond to this comment. I hope you are enjoying the new additions that have been made to my blog since. 😚

      Like

Leave a Reply

