It’s Called Balance

 

It is incredibly easy to get caught up in your own head. I would know, I’ve been living here for the last couple weeks and it’s definitely not my first trip to the depths of my brain’s caves. For me, it’s a result of intense stress and somehow that same stress is what drives me to do more and be better. It’s a strange, evil conundrum that I have yet to figure out and ironically contemplate it quite often. As humans, most of us (and I use that term generously) are very capable of being introspective creatures. We like to think, analyze our situations, play out the hypotheticals… pretty much everything except immersing ourselves in the reality of the given situation. I think these are all coping mechanisms that help us get through the #rough times in life, and yet hinder our progress all at the same time. (WHYYYY?????)

Let me just use myself as a prime example of this theory (I know, I’m  completely biased, but just go with it). I  am a human who tends to get overwhelmed easily and sometimes the thought of powering through it all is even more exhausting that just bucking up and getting it done. It’s not that I’m not capable of getting through the situation – and clearly I have survived thus far – but it feels sometimes like I have to overthink the situation before I can meander the complicated web I have found myself embedded in. I think every #TwentySomething has had a pretty bitter taste of a similar experience. It’s especially tough if you’re even more like me and you suffer from pretty intense anxiety. That heart-pounding, mind-numbing dyscfuctional state complicated already difficult situations ten-fold. But regardless of how we feel or how suffocating the situation is, we have to get through it. And we will be stronger for it when we reach the other side.

12923117_1432326290205633_5160928504695423948_n
purpleclover.com

It’s important in those times, you have a go-to that keeps you grounded. That go-to should be a healthy thing, too. I’m not talking a scapegoat like alcohol or drugs; I do not condone either activities as a way to drown your sorrows. For the record though, I will never judge anyone for a glass of wine and/or a girl’s night (because that would be hypocritical). So back to the point: It’s natural to get caught up in the little details of every task on your plate, but somehow, you have to get your mind back to a big-picture kind of view in order to get through it. I call this concept balance. It’s necessary and it will keep you sane in the most chaotic moments – or weeks – of your life.

It’s also important to take a step outside of the world inside your head and step into the world that other people live in (and can actually access). If work feels like too much and you haven’t taken a break in days, don’t feel bad for doing it. If school work is piling up and all you can do is panic about it, take a night off with good friends who will remind you of the goals that put you in those classes. If your home life feels like it could be the culprit of your over-thinking misery, take a trip with your favorite person (and notice that I’m not excluding a trip by yourself in that statement) to explore the world around you, even if it’s only for an afternoon. You have to find the things that can clear your head and keep some stability in your life. We are all walking the same tight-rope high in the sky, we just do it with different gusts of wind at different times. If nothing else helps you through each blow, remember that while you might think you are the only one who will understand #thestruggle, we are all really in this together. You’re not the only one who feels like they are about to fall off that tiny piece of yarn in midair and it only takes one skill to make it to the other side;

It’s called balance.

Don’t want to go at it alone? Let’s walk this tight-rope together! Add me on Instagram so that we can share snapshots of the #struggle and how we get through it all.

Leave a Reply

