Brush Yourself Off

I can’t even sit here and act like I have never failed. Quite the opposite actually. I fail often, even though I hate using that word. But here’s the deal: when you fail (aka don’t immediately succeed at something, you have 2 choices. You can either (a) sulk in your misery, or (b) you pick yourself up and move on. Moving on takes 2 forms as well. You either (a) keep trying at your task until you succeed, or you (b) find it in yourself to accept your failure and you walk away. I am not the type to walk away from anything without a significant amount of effort. So, as the late Aaliyah would have said, I would choose option “a” and just Try Again:

“If at first you don’t succeed, dust yourself off and try it again. You can dust it off and try again, try again.”

falling
2011spiritualodyssey.wordpress.com

I’m not saying that you can’t eventually move on. I would suggest that you do, but only after you have given the task enough effort to feel completely comfortable doing so. This is NOT the same thing as giving up. Giving up means that you lose out on gaining anything from the situation – that is the true definition of failure. You have to learn from the situation you are in, even if you don’t accomplish the goal you originally set out to do.

There is also a place and time for each goal you set out to accomplish. What I mean by that is that you may think you are doing something in it’s right time, but larger entities may have a different plan. There are also some things are only meant to be accomplished at a certain time in you life and just because you set out to do them then, doesn’t mean that you are ready. For example, when I was in high school, I found in Honors Spanish placed by my high school entrance exam test scores. I HATED it. I was NOT ready; my brain was not capable of understanding a foreign language no matter how hard I studied and I was so hard on myself for that. When I entered college, I was required to take a foreign language. I decided that instead of being scared off by Español, I was going to confront my fears head on. To make a long story very short, I ended the 4th required Spanish class with a grade of 100% on my final and an “A” in the class. I felt so accomplished and realized that I was meant to learn that skill (or language, as the case may be) as a #TwentySomething, rather than as a teen.

I tell that story because I think it illustrates some validity to the point of ideal timing. There are going to be things you think you need to accomplish and try very hard to achieve at a certain point in your life and it just won’t happen. The trick is to not give up, but instead set that goal aside for a better time. There is no shame in going back to something that you couldn’t do before. I actually think it is quite commendable. So if you don’t succeed at something right away, don’t give up on that goal. It will happen eventually as long as you commit to putting in the effort at a later time. You just have to get back to it after you

brush yourself off.

I would love for you to join me on my journey! Let’s be friends on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

